Charter Review Commission

In March 2019, Gainesville voters approved the creation of a Charter Review Commission to create a regularly established process for reviewing and placing a charter amendments on the ballot. The Charter Review Commission will be assembled once a decade to engage with the public and create a list of potential changes to the city charter.

At its May 16, 2019 meeting, the City Commission appointed 11 members to serve on the Charter Review Commission (CRC) from a pool of applicants. The schedule of the Charter Review Commission's meetings are available online, as are videos of their meetings. The meetings are regularly scheduled for the first Monday of each month from 4-6 p.m. in the Gainesville Regional Utilities (GRU) Administration Building, Multipurpose Room (301 SE Fourth Avenue).

The Charter Review Commission will hold at least three public hearings, and must complete its work no later than May of 2020. Changes recommended by the Charter Review Commission will be brought to the City Commission for final consideration before appearing on the November 2020 ballot for voter consideration.

Charter Review members

Walter Barry
Richard Blount
Susan Bottcher
Jorge Campos
Cynthia Chestnut
Robert Cohen
Crystal Goodison, Vice-chair
Scherwin Henry
Mary Lou Hildreth, Chair
Jeremiah Tattersall
Donna Waller
Bryan Eastman, alternate
Nicolas Gonzalez, alternate


Phone: 352-334-5015

Note: Under Florida law, emails and email addresses are public records and subject to disclosure upon request.  If you do not want your email or email address released in response to a public records request, do not send email to this entity.  Instead, please contact this entity by phone or in writing.